St George success recognised in NSW parliament

On Friday, Ms Eleni Petinos MP, Member for Miranda, presented a private members statement to the NSW State Legislative Assembly congratulating our club on its recent success and highlighting the strength of our people and culture.

St Georgerecognised in NSW state parliament

Ms Eleni Petinos MP presenting awards at the 2015 St George Rowing Club Presentation Night.

Sincere thanks to Ms Petinos for her wonderful words and support for our club and the sport of rowing!

The full script from Hansard is below.

Ms ELENI PETINOS (Miranda) [5.36 p.m.]: Today I congratulate the St George Rowing Club on its recent success in winning the New South Wales Rowing Association Premiership Shield for the second time. The shield is awarded to the club that scores the highest number of points in a variety of racing categories. But do not be fooled by the club being named after St George; its boatshed is located in Como, within the beautiful Miranda electorate. The St. George Rowing Club was formed in 1957 to cater to the rowing fraternity and help with the expense associated with the sport. It was initially formed with 24 members, but that quickly grew to more than 200 members by 1962 when the boating was moved from a modest tin shed to the single-storey clubhouse on the banks of the Cooks River. Increasing siltation of the Cooks River and public works in the area has led to the rowing activities being transferred to Scylla Bay at Como, where the club currently trains.

The St George Rowing club, a not-for-profit organisation, operates for the benefit of its members. In its 58 years since formation it has produced three Olympians. The club, although small, has consistently outperformed its rivals. This year the club, for the sixth consecutive year, has finished in the top three New South Wales rowing clubs in the premiership points score. This remarkable achievement is even more impressive because the club has had only 60 to 70 competitive rowers each season, whilst some rival clubs have had more than 200 competitive rowers. In response to this, the club has been investing in growing its rowing presence. It has introduced a learn-to-row program to reach out to those members of the public who are interested in attaining recreational rowing skills.

On 19 June 2015 I had the pleasure of attending the club’s presentation night. Some of the outstanding individual achievements that I acknowledge include: Oarsman of the Year, Steve Harrison; Oarswoman of the Year, Krys Macready; Clubman of the Year, Mark Featherstone; and Pararower of the Year, Steve Knott. It appeared unanimous on the night that the highlight of the 2015 season was the unprecedented success of the Mens A Grade Eight, which featured four father and son combinations in the Edward Trickett New South Wales Grade Championships. The silver medal winning crew included Airton Ramos senior, Airton Ramos junior, Steve Harrison, Nick Harrison, James Chuter, Glenn Chuter, Ben Crooks and Lewis Crooks.

This is the first time that a father-son combination has won a medal in an Australian Championship eight race. I extend my deep congratulations to those gentlemen and I hope this is a trend that continues throughout all clubs. Bringing a family dynamic to sport must be commended and applauded because it engages an ever wider range of members in the activities of the organisations. Overall, this season the St George rowers achieved 184 firsts, 180 seconds and 123 thirds, which is astounding given that the club operated with only 65 competitors this year. The club is expecting to grow and there is no doubt that the successful culture it is building will propel its status to being one of Sydney’s major clubs and will continue to enrich my electorate.

Finally, I mention the dedicated office bearers and take this opportunity to thank president Stephen Irons; vice-president Helen Anderson; secretary Danika Wright; captain Steven Anderson; vice-captain Allan Pollock; committee members Nick Nesevski, Brendan Henwood and Anthony McKinlay; and general manager Tony Lycakis for their tireless work in ensuring the ongoing success of the club. I wish all of the competitors, members and volunteers every success in their future competitions and commend them for their achievements and efforts to date.

Read the original Hansard here:

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment